Johnny Ashby releases new EP ‘In Bloom’

The new EP from Johnny Ashby. Entitled In Bloom

Johnny Ashby is a British singer/songwriter based in Los Angeles, California.  Fun fact: he first found a love for music through his Dad’s mixtapes.  The new EP In Bloom contains five-tracks.  The album songs include “Never Let You Go”, “In Bloom”, “SOS”, “Born Again” and “Found You”.  It is co-written and produced with friends Fredrik Eriksson, Sebastian Fritze, and Bill Delia from the band Grizfolk.  When asked about his music, Ashby explains, “When I write I imagine what the songs would be like live, that’s what’s most important to me. That’s what I’m aiming for.”

Johnny Ashby new EP In Bloom Songs include “Never Let You Go”, “In Bloom”, “SOS”, “Born Again” and "Found You".
Johnny Ashby new EP In Bloom Songs include “Never Let You Go”, “In Bloom”, “SOS”, “Born Again” and “Found You”.

For those who are television fans, you may have also heard a few of his songs.  He has been featured on primetime television for shows including Grey’s Anatomy, Pretty Little Liars, Elementary, Rise, Baywatch, Teen Mom, Midnight In Texas, and many others.

Ashby’s first EP Cannonball Days (2015) peaked at #9 in the iTunes songwriters chart. This led to Huffington Post naming him a “Top 5 Emerging Icon”.  Another album you might want to check out by Ashby is Friends, Lovers an Enermies (2017).

Johnny Ashby’s Thoughts & Concepts

“In Bloom”

I love the piano melody in the bridge and I love the big U2 guitars on the outro. There’s so many sections and parts on this song, all these hooks intertwine together. I get really excited when that happens on a song. It’s what songwriting is all about for me.

“Found You”

It’s about being a kid and having an imaginary friend. I really like writing songs from that perspective. It’s so freeing and it’s kinda refreshing I get to revisit that and put myself back in the shoes of a younger me.

Check it out

Follow What On What’s Good
Other music news
British singer/songwriter Johnny Ashby new single Getting Started
Johnny Ashby
Urban Village EP, ‘Ubaba’.  Tracks include "Ubaba", "Izivunguvungu", "Sakhisizwe", "Izivunguvungu"[Chloé Remix].  Debut 'Udondolo' Jan 2021.
Urban Village
Tyson Kelly EP Plastic Rockstar features 4 tracks Am I Ever Gonna See You Again, Get Me Higher, I Wasn't Saying That, And I see Your Face
Tyson Kelly
Ty Richard is a Toronto soul-R&B singer/songwriter. Richard’s latest single, “Heart Worth Taking“ (2020). It is the first release from his upcoming LP, “In Time & Grace“ (2021). 
Ty Richard
Matt Koelsch, featuring country singer-songwriter Christie Huff
Matt Koelsch
Toronto alt-pop singer/songwriter Jadyn Lamb releases new single “Liar” 
Jadyn Lamb 
Canada’s Best Selling Original Kid’s Group MINI POP KIDS Release Album #18 — Including Original Songs, “Holiday” & “I Want 2"
Eivør new album ‘Segl’ is out now
The hip-hop musical group the FunkBS The Funky Bunch Good Vibrations Celebrate
The Funky Bs
Sophie Hunger new album - HALLUZINATIONEN
Sophie Hunger
Canadian / British alt-rock popsters Dead Romantic release new single “All Talk”
Dead Romantic
CATE new track All Talk - Photo credit Sej Jheeta Upcoming Debut album Love The Madness available September 25, 2020
Ottawa-area five-piece band Taming Sari releases new single “Loving Way” 
Taming Sari
Default image
Jovin Tardif
Jovin Tardif is a freelance writer, storyteller, interviewer, reviewer and conversation starter.