Toronto composer Rob McAllister releases new single Reverie

Rob McAllister new single “Reverie” will be appearing on his upcoming album, Finding Stillness II. The new album is a continuation of the ambient album Finding Stillness (2018).


Finding Stillness II by Rob McAllister

There will be 11 tracks on the album.

  1. Waking Moments
  2. Reverie
  3. Euphoria
  4. Sunshower
  5. Expanse
  6. The Tide
  7. Floating In The Depths
  8. Forgiveness
  9. Transcendence
  10. At The River’s Edge
  11. Petrichor

Quote from McAllister about Waking Moments, Sunshower, Transcendence, and At the River’s Edge

I feel very fortunate to have the beautiful playing of renowned Toronto violinist, Drew Jurecka, on 4 of the pieces here: Waking Moments, Sunshower, Transcendence, and At the River’s Edge. The viola playing towards the end of Transcendence still gives me goosebumps every time.

The first track, Waking Moments, and the last track, Petrichor, were the first and last ones written for this album.

Statement from Rob about Petrichor, Reverie, Euphoria, and Floating in the Depths

It’s been a while since I’ve featured any guitar in my music. For this album, there was always the plan from the get-go to include guitar. While it only takes front and centre in the final track, Petrichor, it’s featured on other tracks like Reverie, Euphoria, and Floating in the Depths.

I pulled out my trombone and trumpet for some subtle background layers in a couple of the tracks. Euphoria is the one where they’re most prominent.

McAllister’s statement about the album

Within you, there’s a place of escape; a place to reflect, reminisce and wonder; a place that’s all your own. I hope this music might offer an escape for those experiencing a difficult time right now.

I like to look at it like I’m writing music for films that don’t yet exist, or that may only ever live as unique stories within each listener’s mind.

Believe it or not, one of the hardest parts of this album for me was naming the tracks!

Follow What On What’s Good

Other Music

Tags: Rob McAllister, Reverie, Music Within, Finding Stillness II

Default image
Jovin Tardif
Jovin Tardif is a freelance writer, storyteller, interviewer, reviewer and conversation starter.