Left Field Messiah releases “In Praise of Bombast” that includes single “Feels Like Summer”

Left Field Messiah is Canada’s newest supergroup. Group members include Steve Bays (Hot Hot Heat), Jeremy Ruzumna (Fitz & The Tantrums) and Erik Janson (Wildling). The trio started working together in 2020. They have recently released their new album “In Praise of Bombast”. Songs include “Feels Like Summer”, “Fuzz Machine” and “AM Moonlight” and “Young Libertine”


Their music teeters between soul and dark funk in one moment, and quickly disintegrates into howling rock on the next.

Left Field Messiah discusses single “Feels Like Summer” from their new album “In Praise of Bombast”

“Feels Like Summer” started as a really cool instrumental spark called “Amazing Warble,” with a wall of synths and a beat I pulled off of one of my cassette tapes. The coolest thing about the process for me is hearing the beginning and comparing it to the end and hearing how much the three of us contributed both together, and then individually by the time we reached the finish line. In terms of a message and meaning, there was so much nostalgia in the initial “warble” that we really embraced it and ended up with a song full of self-reflection and contemplating where we are now and the twists and turns it took to get here.

Left Field Messiah – In Praise of Bombast

There are 9 songs on the album

  1. Are You Ready
  2. Fuzz Machine
  3. AM Moonlight
  4. Hotknife Hits
  5. Feels Like Summer
  6. Classic Feeling
  7. Young Libertine
  8. Pink Flamingos
  9. Golden Love

Other Music News

Default image
Jovin Tardif
Jovin Tardif is a freelance writer, storyteller, interviewer, reviewer and conversation starter.