Serafin LaRiviere releases new single “Take On Me”

Serafin Lariviere is a Canadian Jazz Artist. LaRiviere’s career spans nearly three decades. The artists’ first two albums charted in the top ten on Canadian campus radio.  Serafin’s long-awaited return to music is finally here. 


Unravel will be available everywhere on February 5, 2021. The album features multiple genres including newly arranged jazz standards and original songs.  Unravel is an album that moves through several genres.

Recorded at Number 9 Studios in Toronto, Unravel features a stellar band that includes bass player George Koller (Holly Cole, Laila Biali), horn genius Christopher Plock (Jeff Healy and the Jazz Wizards), pianist Clement Robichaud and Great Bob Scott on drums.

The first single from Unravel is a slow, intimate version of the 1980s Pop classic Take On Me, from the band Ah-ha. Where the original is up-tempo and exhilarating, Serafin’s offering features just voice and piano. It’s quiet, pensive and heart-breaking. Serafin released a video for the song, racking up over 20,000 views in just a few short weeks.

Serafin LaRiviere discusses new single “Take On Me”

I always saw the lyrics as the perfect Torch song. There’s such a sense of love and longing in the words, and I wanted to try to reinterpret that in a way that was respectful to the amazing original version.


  1. I Put A Spell On You
  2. It’s You
  3. Good Boy
  4. You Came a Long Way from St. Louis
  5. Mom
  6. Zephyr
  7. One Note Samba
  8. Cry Me A River
  9. Blue Skies
  10. Take On Me
  11. I Couldn’t Be Your Girl
  12. Unravel

Follow What On What’s Good

Other Music News

Tags: Serafin Lariviere

Default image
Jovin Tardif
Jovin Tardif is a freelance writer, storyteller, interviewer, reviewer and conversation starter.