Urban Village release new EP, ‘Ubaba’

Urban Village is a Soweto-based 4 piece band. Today they release their new EP, ‘Ubaba’.  The group consists of singer/flautist Tubatsi Mpho Moloi, guitarist Lerato Lichaba, drummer Xolani Mtshali, and bassist Simangaliso Dlamini. Track listings for Ubaba EP to include “Ubaba“, “Izivunguvungu“, “Sakhisizwe” and “Izivunguvungu” [Chloé Remix]. ‘Ubaba’ translates as ‘father’. ‘Sakhisizwe’ means ‘To Build A Nation’.  The album is partially recorded at legendary Downtown Studios in the heart of Johannesburg and at Figure of 8 studios in the leafy suburbs of Randburg.

Urban Village EP, ‘Ubaba’.  Tracks include "Ubaba", "Izivunguvungu", "Sakhisizwe", "Izivunguvungu"[Chloé Remix].
Tracks include #Ubaba “Izivunguvungu”, “Sakhisizwe” and “Izivunguvungu”[Chloé Remix].

An interesting fact is that the group was initially drawn to House & Dance music growing up.  But, the exposure to Zulu music being played by older neighbours on the streets of Soweto formed the music they make.  Their debut album ‘Udondolo’ is due January 2021.  The ‘Ubaba’ EP is available to stream on all platforms from here.

Quote from #UrbanVillage about the video

Justice is our brother from Soweto. From the moment we discussed his vision for the Ubaba video we trusted he would bring the song to life on the screen.   The video shows the different roles played by fathers in society; to nurture, to care, to love, and to protect their families. Salute to all the Ubabas out there present in the house.

Follow What On What’s Good

Other music news

Default image
Jovin Tardif
Jovin Tardif is a freelance writer, storyteller, interviewer, reviewer and conversation starter.